chapter eleven

july twenty first, 2016

today was the best day I’ve had here at camp! the first half of the day was kinda boring since we had comm, edu, and guk 101. I was so antsy sitting in the auditorium for guk 101. I kept checking my watch because I was waiting for two o’clock to arrive.

finally it did! we got into our group and headed the red river gorge!! the drive there was so pretty. the scenery was awesome. when we got there, we unloaded… Geri brought snacks and water for us so we got to pick 3 things. then Mark told us to take a helmet, clothes, and/or a harness. then we were off.

it was about a two mile hike through the woods. it was so beautiful!! I wanted to look up and look at every single thing but I couldn’t because I didn’t want to trip on a root or rock and fall and break something. we eventually arrived at an open spot and unpacked. we split into two groups, according to who rode in what van. Geri showed us some essential things to pack in a camping pack and explained how to pack it correctly so that everything fit. it was really cool.

then we put on our harnesses and practiced the repelling techniques. I walked up the path to get in line and (im)patiently waited. I had to walk backwards slowly and get on the edge of the rock then LEAN BACK!! I got a lil sweaty and nervous then because I was standing there dangling on the edge. the guy told me to take baby steps and so I did. then he told me to stop and lean back, then repeat all the way down. I was focused on my feet and what I what I was doing, so I didn’t even have time to think about how far up I was. (in case you’re wondering, it was 60 feet).

I totally wish I could’ve done it again! I can’t wait until I do get to do it again. it was so fun. the rock climbing and repelling really helped with my fear of heights. now I’m ready to check ziplining off of my bucket list.

so if you don’t really know me I’m kind of a hippie. Miguel’s pizza was like my place. they had good food, a cool hangout place, a place for camping, and of course, HIPPIES!! I also cannot wait until I get to check “camp at Miguel’s” off my bucket list.

Leave a comment